One of Birmingham’s hottest performing arts academies has revealed its shortlist for the inaugural ‘Recognition Arts Ball’ today. The awards are set to recognize the positive contributions made to the organization by its members.

APAA works with over 100 young people on a weekly basis of which more than 70% have made the shortlist. The shortlist was compiled by the academy’s directors who handpicked individuals who they felt has excelled and gone beyond the call of duty in specific areas of their development.

Nominees have been asked to compile a personal statement as to why the arts are important to them and why they should win the award for their chosen category. An independent panel, made up from the organizations ‘Arts Ambassadors’, will then judge entries.

Winners will be announced in a glitzy ceremony on the 29th April at the Aston Villa Football Ground where the overall winner will receive a cash prize.

The ceremony will round off a month long campaign #ArtMatters, that aims to give young people a voice to express the importance of the creative sector in Birmingham. The Ball will also seek to celebrate APAA’s 10th anniversary and is expected to welcome up to 250 guests made up from the local and business community and of course past and present students from APAA.

Pelego Powell, Creative & Artistic Director for APAA said,

 Our students work really hard, week in, week out to achieve success – sometimes going above and beyond the call of duty. We want to use this ball to recognize and reward some of the outstanding achievements made by our very own young people. Too often we are bombarded by negativity coming from our community, however our academy amongst other grassroots organisations have some inspirational young people. We want to use our recognition ball to platform and highlight these individuals.

The Shortlist:

Most Developed Award

Jardel Robinson – Performer
Abigail Daniels – Performer
Venessa Lewis – Performer
Khari George – Performer
Rymarn Powell – Performer
Donmeile Fairin-Hall – Musician
Jordan Thomas

Best Newcomer Award – Performer

Kimberley Slyvester
Isobel Yorke
Renee Worall
Jada-Li Warrican
Savannah Howell
Joel Nelson

Best Newcomer Award – Musician

Emmanuel Galloway
Slater Bailey
Jamahl Augustine
Chris Trotman

Peer Support Award

Khedejah Letman – Performer
Keturah Nelson – Performer
Tiara McCoy – Performer
Vanessa Lewis – Performer
Slater Bailey – Musician

Inspirational person of the year Award

Hadassa Nelson – Performer
Claire Hull – Performer
Tembi McKenzie – Performer
Corey Weekes – Performer
Shemar Clarke – Performer
Charmaine Beckford – Performer
Chris Russell – Musician

Leadership Award

Dannica White
Hadassa Nelson
Alicia Daniels
Edy Samuels
Shaquil Osman
Thomas Nelson
Nigel Groovey
Chris Russell
Naron Licthmore

Extra Mile Award

Jada Haughton-White
Jayda Mills
Abigail Daniels
Vanessa Lewis
Mario Lewis

Performer of the Year Award

All Performers

Musician of the Year Award

All musicians

Legacy Award

Demi Kennedy
Shaynade Robinson
Shekyna Byron
Shauna Kelly-Alder
Felix Kankwamba
Hannah O’Connell
Ashley Allen
Jamael Jarrett
Alima Rico-Emmanuel

Peoples Choice Award

ALL members of APAA. Vote will take place on Monday 25th April.


Junior Performer of the Year

All JuniorZ

Most improved award

All JuniorZ

Junior choice award 

All JuniorZ

Share →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Enter the answer below: *